BAP

Some time ago, I went to my BAP – which is the culmination of the national selection process attended by all candidates for ordination in the Church of England. It comes after many months and years of preparation, reflection and prayer – and after the completion of a lot of paperwork!

Reflecting on the days I spent in that environment brings back a whole host of feelings and emotions. At the end of the last day I was fairly spent physically – it really takes it out of you. A lot of wondering “could I have answered that in a slightly better way?” And there is always a nagging fear at the back of your mind. It’s no small thing to offer your life and yourself to God in service. What if the answer is no? Where does that leave us? Those questions have stayed with me ever since I returned home.

But how spiritually uplifting the whole thing was! I was privileged to meet some wonderful people whose faith and witness to Jesus Christ was amazing to see. Everyone was so gracious and generous with time and prayer. I thanked God for bringing me to that place at that time – after all, the journey is as important as the destination.

And how did I do? Well, that’s a story for another time…

Leave a Reply

